Dig Updates

(Sigurd Towrie)
Dig Diary - Day Twenty-Eight Wednesday, August 4, 2021 Today has been busy, with sultry weather and, as close of ...
Read More
/ Ceramics, Excavation
Do you have a couple of hours (or more) to spare on Thursday, August 12, or Friday, August 13? Yes, ...
Read More
/ Excavation
(Sigurd Towrie)
A video of Jo recovering the first of two Neolithic timber samples from the interior of Structure Twelve today. Apologies ...
Read More
/ Excavation, Video
Carved Stone Ball
Dig Diary - Day Twenty-Seven Tuesday, August 3, 2021 Imagine the situation. At your feet are probably the only two ...
Read More
/ Excavation
(Sigurd Towrie)
Dig Diary - Day Twenty-Six Monday, August 2, 2021 We have a very special offer today, not, we are sad ...
Read More
/ Excavation
Dig Diary - Day Twenty-Five Friday, July 30, 2021 Over the years of excavation the Ness has produced so many ...
Read More
/ Excavation
(Sigurd Towrie)
Dig Diary - Day Twenty-Four Thursday, July 29, 2021 An air of calm stillness hung over the Ness excavation today ...
Read More
/ Excavation
Round-bottomed pot sherd
Dig Diary - Day Twenty-Three Wednesday, July 28, 2021 We have really exciting news today from Structure Five - that ...
Read More
/ Excavation
(Sigurd Towrie)
Dig Diary - Day Twenty-Two Tuesday, July 27, 2021 Structure Twelve’s northern annex. It’s been called many things over the ...
Read More
/ Excavation
Structure Five 3D model
A new, fully-interactive 3D model of Structure Five created by Trench J supervisor Paul Durdin. Earlier models of the building, ...
Read More
/ 3D Model, Excavation
(Sigurd Towrie)
Dig Diary - Day Twenty-One Monday, July 26, 2021 Well, here's something new...rain! Twenty-four hours ago the weather in Orkney ...
Read More
/ Excavation
Dig Diary - Day Twenty Friday, July 23, 2021 The Ness has had many notable "firsts" but today we became ...
Read More
/ Excavation