The Ness of Brodgar Trust - supporting the ongoing excavation at the Ness of Brodgar, Orkney BUY-THE-BOOK penny-logo

2017 USA lecture tour

Ness of Brodgar site director Nick Card will embark on a coast to coast lecture tour of the USA in February 2017, including a side trip into Canada. This tour has been made possible by the Samuel H Kress Lectureship for 2016-17 awarded by the Archaeological Institute of America, and Nick would like to express his gratitude for this award.

 

 

See below for the list of venues, but for up-to-date information please visit the Archaeological Institute of America's event section. They have the full list of venues and if you click on the lecture title you'll get the organiser's contact details.

 

Here's his route map:

 

Dates, times and venues should be checked locally as there may be last minute changes

 

Tuesday, February 21, 2017  Salem OR. Venue: Hudson Hall in the Rogers Music Center, Willamette University. Time:7.30pm

 

Thursday, February 23, 2017  Bozeman MT Venue: Museum of the Rockies. Time: 6pm

 

Sunday, February 26, 2017  Santa Rosa CA.  Venue: Ellis Auditorium, Petaluma Campus of Santa Rosa Junior College Time: 4.30pm

 

Tuesday, February 28, 2017  Tucson AZ Haury (Anthropology) Building, Room 216, University of Arizona Time: 5.30pm

 

Thursday, March 2, 2017  Santa Barbara. Venue: Natural History Museum. Time: 7pm

 

Monday, March 6, 2017  California State University, Lecture Room, University Business Center, 5245 N Backer Avenue, Fresno. Time: 7.15pm

 

Wednesday, March 8, 2017 University of Nevada, Wright Hall 148C, 4505 South Maryland Parkway, Las Vegas Nevada. Time: 7pm

 

Saturday, March 11, 2017  Denver CO, Venue: University of Colorado-Denver, Dept of Anthropology, North Classroom #4002. Time: 2pm

 

Tuesday, March 14, 2017  St. Louis MO Venue: Missouri History Museum. Time: 7.30pm

 

Sunday, March 19, 2017  Carleton University, Paterson Hall, Room 303 , 1125 Colonel By Dr, Ottawa, ON K1S 5B6. Time: 2pm

 

Tuesday, March 21, 2017  University of Georgia Lecture Hall, Room TBA, Athens, GA. Time: 6pm

 

Thursday, March 23, 2017  Brevard-Asheville, NC. Venue: Whitman Room, Ramsey Library, Univ. of North Carolina. Time: 7.30pm

 

Sunday, March 26, 2017  Long Island NY,  Venue: Hofstra University, Breslin Hall, Hempstead. Time: 2pm, preceded by reception at 1pm

 

Wednesday, March 29, 2017  Springfield, OH Venue: Wittenberg University, Room TBA. Time: 5.30pm

 

Friday, March 31, 2017   Williamsburg, VA: Venue Venue William and Mary College. Time 1. 30pm (N.B. this is not one of the AIA organised lectures but is being organised by the William & Mary College - please check with them direct regarding tickets)

 

Sunday, April 2, 2017 Norfolk, Virginia: Venue: The Chyrsler Museum Kaufman Auditorium Time: 2pm

 

5th  April, 2017 Washington DC To be confirmed but near Rayburn House Office Bldg, Capitol Hill Time 7.30pm

22-1-17Revised itenerary map